National cuisine

Russia is a multinational country with an abundance of very different traditions and customs.

It is not surprising that in gastronomy the main idea was eclecticism, which seemed to bring together pieces of the puzzle of the kitchen of all corners of the country. From Stroganina and Manti to Chak-Chak and Echpochmak, from Stolichny (Russian salad) to Laghman. However, despite the size of Russian cuisine map, you can try the main dishes anywhere in the country. Here are a few dishes that we would like to highlight.

Famous Russian food. Seven dishes that everyone should try

shi

Shchi (Cabbage soup)

Schi – soup with cabbage, invented back in the XI century. It seems that there is nothing difficult: cabbage with its pickle, meat or fish, a little bit of seasoning. However, there are many recipes for making this soup, and many of them return to the menu of restaurants from non-existence recently. Traditionally, they eat this soup with rye bread and sour cream dressing.

seld

Seld pod shuboy (Herring under the fur coat)

This salad is not only tasty, but also has a beautiful legend of creation. The author of this dish was the owner of many popular canteens and taverns in Moscow, merchant Anastas Bogomilov. In the restless revolutionary years, his taverns guests got drunk very often, argued and of course fought. A logical thought occurred to the owner’s head – to add such a salad to the menu, eating which will not allow the alcohol to hit the head so quickly and strongly. Herring in those days was cheap and beloved by people, so that the fate of the main ingredient was predetermined. Then the well-known vegetables and mayonnaise were added to the recipe, but with the name of a salad is a separate story. After all, a fur coat is not just a word, but also is an abbreviation, fashionable among authorities: "Boycott and Anathema to Chauvinism and Decline". In short with Russian letters – Sh.U.B.A. So, behind one traditional salad there are so many interesting historical moments.

blins

Pancakes

From IX century – this long ago the first recipes for pancakes appeared in Russia. One of the reasons for the popularity is a simple recipe consisting of milk, eggs and salt. A separate story is what exaactly the pancakes are served with. It can be sour cream, jam or caviar. By and large, you are limited only by your own imagination.

stolichniy

Stolichny salad

It would not be an exaggeration to call Stolichny a cult dish. That`s unthinkable to imagine a New Year's table without this salad in almost every and each family in Russia. Boiled potatoes, carrots, sausages or meat, eggs, pickles, peas and dill – all reduced and cut to a cubic shape, dressed with mayonnaise (ideally homemade). The recipe is so popular that every person and chief has his own way of cooking, so the ingredients should be treated without extra piety.

vinegret

Vinegret (Russian vinaigrette)

As experts have said repeatedly, this salad has the quite distant relation to the original sauce of the same name, though that doesn`t detract its merits. Boiled beetroot, potatoes, beans and carrots, slightly salted cucumbers and onions seasoned with fragrant sunflower oil - almost the same recipe since the end of the XIX century.

kvas

Kvass

Kvass is one of the oldest Russian drinks loved by everyone – from peasants to tsars. It was mentioned in 1056 for the first time. Until the end of the 19th century, kvass was made as a low-alcohol drink (2-3 degrees) on rye malt with savoury herbs, berry and fruit juices. Subsequently, they began to make kvass from ready-made baked bread, crackers. Many Moscow pubs and restaurants return to preparing their own brew – we highly recommend trying it!

holodec

Kholodets (Aspic)

Aspic is a jellied meat. It does not sound too appetizing, does it? However, that`s not so scary. First, a fragrant, rich broth is prepared on meat and bones. Then the meat, chopped into small delicate fibers, is placed to deep dishes with broth, which freezes with the help of gelatin within a few hours. Add to these fragrant spices with bay leaves - and delicious aspic will surprise you. The main thing – give him a chance.

Moscow restaurants and cafes

Русская и уральская кухня

Российская кухня собрала традиции всех уголков страны воедино. От строганины и мантов до чак-чака и эчпочмака, от салата «Столичный» и до лагмана.

Так и на Урале, благодаря географическому положению на границе Европы и Азии сформировалась оригинальная кухня, впитавшая в себя традиции славянских, финно-угорских и тюркских народов. Ее основу составляют блюда из дичи, рыбы, ягод, грибов - всего того, чем богаты уральские леса.

К традиционным русским блюдам добавим несколько уральских, которые стоит попробовать:

Знаменитая русская и уральская еда

seld

Пельмени

Пельмени с разнообразными начинками считаются главным блюдом уральского стола. Начинка - не только привычное мясо, но и картошка, грибы, редька, квашеная капуста, ягоды. Они до сих пор считаются визитной карточкой местной кухни, и гости региона непременно жаждут их попробовать.

seld

Варенье

Варенье – из ягод и шишек.

seld

Грибы

Грибы во всем многообразии. Жареные и картошкой, соленые грузди, маринованные опята, суп грибница, пироги с грибами и многое другое.

shi

Щи

Щи – суп с капустой, придуманный еще в XI веке. Казалось бы – что сложного: капуста и ее рассол, мясо или рыба, немного приправ. Однако рецептов приготовления данного супа великое множество, и многие из них только возвращаются в меню ресторанов из небытия. Едят же щи традиционно с ржаным хлебом, заправляя сметаной.

seld

СЕЛЬДЬ ПОД ШУБОЙ

Салат не только вкусный, но и обладающий красивой легендой создания. Автор данного блюда – хозяин множества популярных московских столовых и трактиров в Москве, купец Анастас Богомилов. В неспокойные революционные годы гости его заведений часто – слишком часто, по мнению хозяина, напивались, спорили и, конечно, дрались. В голову владельца же пришла логичная мысль – почему бы не добавить в меню такой салат, благодаря которому алкоголь не так быстро и сильно ударял в голову. Сельдь в те времена была товаром дешевым и любимым народом, так что судьба основного ингредиента была предопределена. Дальше в рецепт пришли всем известные овощи и майонез, а вот с названием – отдельная история. Ведь шуба – это не просто слово, а аббревиатура, модная у власти: «Шовинизму и Упадку – Бойкот и Анафема». Коротко – Ш.У.Б.А. Вот так за одним традиционным салатом скрывается столько интересных исторических моментов.

blins

Блины

IX век – настолько давно появились на Руси первые рецепты блинов. Одна из причин популярности – достаточно простой рецепт, состоящий из молока, яиц и соли. Отдельный разговор – то, с чем сами блины подаются. Это может быть и сметана, и варенье, и икра. По большому счету, вы ограничены только собственной фантазией.

stolichniy

Салат "Столичный"

Не будет преувеличением назвать «Столичный» культовым блюдом. Без него немыслимо представить новогодний стол практически каждой семьи в России. Отварной картофель, морковь, колбаса или мясо, яйца, соленые огурцы, горошек и укроп – все уменьшенные до кубического размера и заправленные майонезом (в идеале – домашним). Рецепт настолько популярен, что практически у каждого человека и заведения есть свой собственный способ приготовления, так что к ингредиентам стоит относиться без лишнего пиетета.

vinegret

Винегрет

Как было сказано экспертами неоднократно, к оригинальному одноименному соусу данный салат имеет отношение разве что очень условное – но это не умаляет его достоинств. Отварная свекла, картофель, фасоль и морковь, немного соленый огурцов и лука, все приправленное душистым подсолнечным маслом – практически неизменный рецепт с конца XIX века.

kvas

Квас

Квас – один из древнейших русских напитков, который любили все – от крестьян до царей. Впервые упоминается в 1056 году. До конца XIX века изготавливался как слабоалкогольный напиток (2-3 градуса) на ржаном солоде с добавлением пряных трав, ягодных и фруктовых соков. Впоследствии квас стали делать из готового печеного хлеба, сухарей. Многие заведения Москвы возвращаются к тому, чтобы готовить квас самостоятельно – очень советуем попробовать!

holodec

Холодец (студень)

Холодец – это мясное желе. Звучит не слишком аппетитно, не правда ли? Но все не так уж страшно. Сначала готовится ароматный, наваристый бульон на мясе и костях. Затем мясо, порубленное на мелкие нежные волокна, добавляется в глубокую посуду с бульоном, который при мощи желатина застывает в течении нескольких часов. Прибавьте к этому ароматные специи с лавровым листом – и холодец вас удивит. Главное – дайте ему шанс.

Рестораны, кафе москвы